Precision forming

Neue Materialien Fürth GmbH

As a result of the increasing emphasis placed on lightweight construction, the demand for fibre-reinforced composite components persists unabated. Reduced costs and increased performance in fibres and matrix systems, as well as improved series-production processes, are amongst the benefits that are allowing new fields of application to be tapped into. One of NMF GmbH's most recent developments is called LiSA (lightweight sandwich applications) and allows organic sheets to be precisely formed into components with superior visual appearance that do not require any finishing work.

Kunststofftechnik_LiSA

ADVANTAGES OF OUR PRECISION FORMING PRESS

The key benefits of this process are the ability to produce multi-material systems with a class A surface, capitalize on the potential of sandwich structures for lightweight construction, and increase the functionality of thermoplastic fibre-reinforced composite components. Besides thermoforming organic sheets, forming technology of the future LiSA enables fibre-reinforced composite components to be reinforced locally and to be additionally hybridized during the production process by integrating decorative elements or electrically conductive tracks.

PRECISION FORMING THIN, VISUALLY APPEALING FIBRE-REINFORCED COMPOSITE COMPONENTS

The increased demand for lightweight construction has led to fibre-reinforced composite components becoming thinner and thinner. This is where isothermal processes quickly come up against obstacles. Variothermal processing, on the other hand, allows for the production of coating-ready surfaces on thin-walled, complex components. Not only that, but the integrated in-mould and insert decoration technology enables the flexible production of visually appealing components that do not require any finishing work.

Präzisionsumformen-Tabeltt-K5_08533

Contacs

Team leader:
Dr.-Ing. Leo Hoffmann

Scientific leadership:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dietmar Drummer

Contact: kunststoffe@nmfgmbh.de

Präzisionsumformen

Neue Materialien Fürth GmbH

Durch die zunehmende Bedeutung des Leichtbaus hält die Nachfrage nach Faserverbundbauteilen an. Neue Anwendungsfelder werden insbesondere durch Kostensenkungen und Performancesteigerungen bei Fasern und Matrixsystemen sowie der Verbesserung von Serienprozessen erschlossen. Eine der jüngsten Entwicklungen der NMF GmbH trägt den Namen LiSA „Lightweight Sandwich Applications“ und ermöglicht das präzise Umformen von Organoblechen zu nachbearbeitungsfreien Sichtbauteilen.

Kunststofftechnik_LiSA

Vorteile unserer Präzisionsumformpresse

Im Mittelpunkt stehen insbesondere die Herstellung von Multimaterialsystemen mit Class-A-Oberfläche, die Nutzung des Leichtbaupotenzials von Sandwichstrukturen sowie die Erhöhung der Funktionsdichte bei thermoplastischen Faserverbundbauteilen. Neben dem Thermoformen von Organoblechen bietet die zukunftsorientierte Umformtechnologie LiSA die Möglichkeit, Faserverbundbauteile lokal zu verstärken und diese durch die Integration von Dekoren oder elektrischen Leiterbahnen noch während des Herstellungsprozesses zu hybridisieren.

Präzisionsumformen dünner, optisch ansprechender Faserverbundbauteile

Aufgrund des erhöhten Leichtbauanspruchs werden Faserverbundbauteile immer dünner. Die isotherme Prozesstechnik stößt dabei schnell an Grenzen. Mit der variothermen Prozessführung ist die Herstellung lackierfähiger Oberflächen bei dünnwandigen und sehr komplexen Bauteilen möglich. Darüber hinaus gelingt mit der integrierten In-Mould- und Insert-Decoration-Technologie die variable Fertigung nachbearbeitungsfreier, optisch ansprechender Bauteile.

Präzisionsumformen-Tabeltt-K5_08533

Ansprechpartner

Gruppenleiter:
Dr.-Ing. Leo Hoffmann

Wissenschaftliche Leitung:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dietmar Drummer

Kontakt: kunststoffe@nmfgmbh.de